Stuff that happened in October

Holy cow, where did October go? Does anyone else feel like you just blinked and it was gone? It was one of those months where it seemed we had nothing and everything going on at the same time.

In all honesty, October is not my favorite month of the year, and I’m not entirely sad to see it go. Seasonly speaking, it’s a pretty drab month. The time hasn’t changed yet so it seems like it’s dark all the time. It got really cold here, rained a lot, even got some snow. Also, I am not the world’s biggest fan of Halloween. I know, I know, that’s almost sacrilegious in our society, but I just don’t care for creepy, gory, scary things.

At any rate, I always welcome November with open arms. I love Thanksgiving and pilgrim hats and turkey and pie. I also love that Christmas and my birthday are right around the corner in December. But this year a lot of good things happened in October, and before I got into “holiday” mode, I wanted to pay some homage to that.

october

We went to a pumpkin patch, and spent some time in a corn maze. A loved the petting zoo and romping around holding Daddy’s hands.

fall131

We went to Chicago. It was A’s and my first time to the Windy City, and we had a blast. We were only there for 36 hours, but we went to Millennium Park, Navy Pier, and the Shedd Aquarium. We did PLENTY of walking so we got to see a good bit of the city. Most importantly, we had Chicago deep dish pizza, which I might have formed an emotional attachment to (sadly, I was too busy falling love with my pizza–and drinking wine–to document the beginning of this relationship).

chicago

Lastly, we celebrated A’s second Halloween. I made her mermaid costume, and I’m really pleased with how it turned out. I’m not the most crafty mama on the block, but it was definitely cheaper. I think I spent a total of $15 on the whole ensemble. We had some bad weather roll through Halloween night, so Trick or Treating was postponed until last night. We went out with one of my friends and her almost-10 month old, and I had a blast. She had no idea what was going on, but she really like the attention. And getting candy, even if she doesn’t get to eat it.

(We also took some great selfies. A LOVES selfies.)

halloween

All things considered, this October was a pretty great month. We made some good memories and had a lot of fun. I don’t think you can ask for much more than that, no?

But I’m still excited it’s November! Bring on the turkey.

2 thoughts on “Stuff that happened in October

Leave a Reply

