Home wasn’t built in a day

I knew it would happen eventually.

I am officially homesick.

I miss my family and my friends. I miss my old house and my old city. I miss being able to run errands and know exactly where I’m going. I even miss my old job and my old co-workers. (I’m getting into the hard part of my job and have had a couple rough days. I’m sure this is partly to blame for these emotions.) It’s not that Indianapolis is a miserable place, it’s quite nice, and everyone I’ve met here is quite nice. But it’s not my home yet, and they aren’t my good friends yet.

I miss being able to pick up my phone and have someone to text/call and go hang out with. I miss being able to make plans with family and friends. I never truly appreciated how lucky I was to have such an amazing support system of family and friends in place. Now that I don’t have that, I wish I had taken better advantage of it the months before moving. Like my best friend often says to me, “Sometimes life gets in the way of things.”

I know it’s true, but it stinks. This is part of the hindsight is twenty/twenty thing that comes with being an adult, isn’t it?

Even though right now I’m feeling sad, I know it’s not permanent. When I moved to Boston for grad school I went through the same thing (and I even had family up there). Eventually, I got used to it and the people I met became good friends. I’m sure the same thing will happen here. And of course I have the added bonus of being with the two people that mean the most to me here.

In the end, home is wherever we’re all together.

Leave a Reply

