I support you

It’s World Breastfeeding Week as well as National Breastfeeding Month. While part of me is super excited for all my mommy friends who are currently BF-ing their babies (or toddlers or whatever, really), the other part of me is bummed we have to drum up support for any mom at all.

Which is why I wanted to throw my hat in the ring with those standing behind the “I Support You” movement, spear headed by three lovely ladies, Fearless Formula Feeder, Mama by the Bay, and I Am Not The Babysitter. As a mother who has breastfed, combo fed and formula fed my one baby, I love this movement.

I breastfed A for a total of six months. I combo fed her for two of those six months, and for the past four months I have been formula feeding her. At each and every point of this journey, I have been blessed to have love and support from everyone around me every step of the way.

When I was breastfeeding I got support from my family, my friends, my doctor, A’s pediatrician, and many others. If I needed help or information, I was able to get it. I never had to worry about feeling uncomfortable in front of my family or friends while nursing, even if I never had the guts to nurse in public.

When I was pumping at work, I was lucky enough to have employers who understood. When I started combo feeding, I was able to ask for advice from doctors. Eventually when I decided formula was the best way to go for me and A, I was able to feed her confidently knowing I was providing her with safe, clean, and healthy nourishment.

I was never made to feel anything but a great mom for breast feeding. Which is how it should be for all nursing moms.

I have yet to be made to feel anything but a great mom for combo feeding or formula feeding. Which is how it should be for all parents using these or other methods to feed their babies.

I feel extremely fortunate to have the best of all worlds. I was able to experience nursing A, and it was awesome, but I would be lying if I said I loved every minute of it. I was never an effective pumper, and eventually that led to combo feeding and eventually formula feeding. And that’s awesome too.

I get to feed my child with love every day. And I support you, no matter how you do the same.

wesupportyou

Leave a Reply

