The easiest way to make labels (really)

Yesterday I posted about the teacher appreciation gifts I made/put together for A’s daycare. All of my effort (and it was minimum) was put into making the labels. But personalized labels do put a nice touch to things. And knowing how to make them quickly, easily and cheaply is an awesome skill to have in your back pocket.

First things first, I am not a super duper creative or artsy person. Really, you can ask anyone. I don’t really have an eye for design. Even with these shortcomings, I’ve found I can still make pretty cute labels, which means you can too. And all you really need is Microsoft Word.

If I can do it, you can do it!

If I can do it, you can do it!

Sure, there are better graphics programs out there, but better = more expensive. And Word is probably already on your computer, making it cheap and accessible. Plus, it’s pretty user friendly, and since you’ve probably been using it forever, there’s no learning new software. Ding ding, we have a winner!

I originally wanted to type out a tutorial, but it got too long and too confusing. Instead I will refer you to someone who already did so, and much better than I could. Just a Girl and Her Blog has an awesome guideline for it. Go there. Learn.

I have a folder of saved images I use specifically for these kind of projects. If you Google image search “chevron”, “stripes”, “polka dots”, “plaid”, etc, you have an endless supply of fills. Saving them gives you a plethora of options in one place. I mentioned yesterday that dafont.com is my favorite resource for fonts, and I wasn’t lying. Most fonts are free for personal use, and there is literally a font for anything you could ever need.

Of course, these resources can do a lot more than make labels. Anything you could possibly want to print and make pretty you can make: Stationary, gift tags, invitations, stickers, etc. I’ve already started designing A’s birthday invitations using them. And once you realize how much fun it is, you’ll want to make a label for everything.

Leave a Reply

