Even babies appreciate teachers

This week is “Teacher Appreciation Week” at daycare. I didn’t even know daycares had teacher appreciation weeks? It makes sense, lord knows they do work their butts off. I don’t think I could be in a room with five crying infants, or 10 curious three year olds, for that matter. I guess I shouldn’t have been surprised, as all the teachers at A’s daycares are amazing and definitely deserve more than a week’s worth of appreciation.

But, if I’m being entirely honest, I kind of inwardly groaned with the handout was sent home last week. I think I said something similar to, “Great, as if I needed one more thing to do,” later that evening. Luckily, daycare made it easy and practically laid out what to bring each day. Monday was breakfast foods day, Tuesday was candy/sweet treats day, today was “take and go snacks” day, and tomorrow they’re having a luncheon for all the staff.

With John leaving, I needed this week to be as easy and painless as possible. I also needed it to be as cheap as possible. I still wanted to have a little fun with these gifts. I settled for store bought/packaged snacks and personalized labels. On Monday, I got mini donuts, and I put this label on the top:

Picture 5I found adorable orange and white polka dot ziplock baggies in the dollar section at Target, so on Tuesday I filled them with M&Ms and Hershey Kisses. I slapped this label on a bag for each teacher in A’s room:

Picture 2For my “take and go snack” I got Teddy Grahams in those little lunch box bags. I put two in each baggie, and taped this label to the front for each teach:

Picture 1Those labels weren’t my best work, but I only had about five minutes total to get them done. I love dafont.com for things like this. I was able to get really cute symbol fonts of food and teddy bears.

Tomorrow is the teacher’s luncheon. The first day they had sign up sheets I quickly signed up to bring brownies. I didn’t want to be the sucker stuck bringing a casserole or meat dish. I went super duper easy and just got a mix, which kind of breaks my heart, but I don’t have the energy to bake from scratch tonight. They are currently baking and making my house smell amazing. When we’re ready to go tomorrow I’m just going to pop this label on them:

Picture 4All in all, this week was easier than I anticipated it. I enjoyed having an excuse to get a little creative and DIY something, even if it as simple as a printable label. And I spent less than $10, which makes it an all around win.

Leave a Reply

