Dear Amelia {Six Months}

ameliarosesixmonths

Dear Amelia,

How is it possible that we are already here again? These months are going by faster and faster.

This month is especially important, because you are six months old now. What does that mean? Well, it means you were born half year ago. If we were still counting your age in weeks, you would be 26 weeks old (or the same amount of weeks that I am years, which is a little amusing). And if we want to get really crazy, we could also say you are 185 days old.

So what’s new in your world now? You can officially sit up on your own, most of the time. You do pretty well with it before you get distracted and topple over. You have completely mastered rolling over, and that is your main form of momentum when you aren’t being carried somewhere. You are starting to work on scooting on your belly, but so far you haven’t quite got the hang of it, thank god, because we haven’t baby-proofed yet.

You are also eating a TON OF FOOD. I’m going to document everything you’ve eaten and liked here so when you are five and terribly picky and refusing to eat your veggies I can say, “See? You liked peas once! YOU WILL LIKE THEM NOW.”

Foods Baby A will eat:

  • Peas
  • Carrots
  • Green beans
  • Sweet potato
  • Squash
  • Bananas
  • Apples
  • Cantaloupe
  • Watermelon
  • Blueberries
  • Pears
  • Mangoes
  • Peaches
  • Oatmeal

You LOVE to eat. I don’t even think it matters to you what’s in the bottle or on the spoon, as long as it is going in your mouth. We just started giving you breakfast, and you think it’s the best thing ever. You can even drink from a cup (no lie, I don’t even know how you figured that one out, you were just able to do it).

You are laughing and giggling at everything. Seriously, everything is hilarious to you, but it makes me feel incredibly special that I can make you laugh the most and the loudest. It’s no secret that I am your favorite. I often hear, “She just wants her mommy,” and it’s true. You can be screaming bloody murder (and good lord help us, can you do that, you are already throwing toddler like tantrums, and it is frightening), and if I pick you up you stop. I suppose I should feel a little guilty you like me best, but I know it won’t always be the case, so I’m just going to enjoy it while it lasts.

Even though you’ve been here for six months, I still can’t believe I am your mom. I know I’ve said it before, but I’ll say it every month because it will never stop being true: I am so lucky and so incredibly blessed to have you.

I love you times infinity forever.

XOXO,

Mama

P.S. Can we try to grow up a little slower?

2 thoughts on “Dear Amelia {Six Months}

Leave a Reply

