The Sleep Situation (part deux)

We have been working on getting A to sleep in her crib for the past few weeks. Most nights it’s hit or miss. She goes down around 7:00pm with little to no problem. Some nights she’ll cry, but usually she passes out with no intervention needed from us (every now and then we’ll have to pop in her room to settle her down, but it’s rare).

The problem arises anywhere between midnight and four AM. And by problem I mean actual problem and not my child, though that wakes up too. A inevitably wakes up at some point in that time frame and starts screaming.

I’ve tried letting her cry, I’ve tried going in there to settle her down. She’s not hungry and looking for a bottle. The only thing she’s looking for is company. The moment I take her into bed with us it’s all snuggles.

I don’t really mind this at four AM since we’re waking up pretty soon anyway, but when it happens at midnight I know I’m in for a long night.

So what I’m trying to say here is it hasn’t been easy. It was getting better, though. Last week, pre daylight savings, she slept two whole nights in her crib. Friday night she slept almost 14 hours in there. It was unbelievable.

Then the time changed and blew everything to hell.

Saturday night (morning? I don’t know) she woke up around 4:30am (which was like 3:30am) refusing to go back to sleep. Eventually we gave her a bottle, and after sitting up and talking to herself for half an hour, she fell back asleep around 5:30am.

Every night since has been a replay of the same.

It’s miserable. And while we weren’t getting full nights of rest, we got a taste of it. We could see the light at the end of the tunnel. Now I feel like I was hit by the train.

How long does it typically take babies to adjust to time changes? It can’t take that long, right? Please tell me it can’t.

ETA: I wrote this post Monday/Tuesday of this week with the intent to post it a lot sooner than this, but, you know, life happened. Since then, A has been doing a little better with sleeping. She has been taking a cat nap around 6:30pm each night after getting home (weird), so her bedtime is now closer to 8:00pm. Is that normal? I don’t know. I’m not sure I care, because she slept all night in her crib again last night, so whatever works at this point, I’m game. 

2 thoughts on “The Sleep Situation (part deux)

  1. Bub always had the worst time with time changes. It would take about 2 weeks to adjust him.
    LG is doing OK but now waking up at 3 and 5. Unfortunately this has coincided with teaching her to self soothe because heretofore I’ve been nursing at sleeptime and I’m cutting that out now. But she’s always been hit or miss sleeping all the way through the night.

    sometimes hit or miss with sleeping through the night

Leave a Reply

