100

My last post was my 100th post on this blog.

For a lot of bloggers, this is probably not a very big milestone. Just a step along the way to something bigger, something better. And maybe it’s that for me too, eventually, but it also symbolizes something else.

I’ve started a lot of blogs, and other than a Livejournal I had when I was in high school/college, I’ve never really been able to carry them through to anything. I would start strong, but eventually lose interest. At some point I would notice I hadn’t written in a day, a week, a month, and instead of revitalizing it I would just let it go, embarrassed I hadn’t been able to make it work.

I’ve definitely had weeks where posting wasn’t the most important thing to me. But even when I’ve let a week go without writing, I’ve picked it back up and stuck to it. So while 100 posts may not mean much to other people, I’m proud of this accomplishment. I’m proud of the readership I’m building. I’m proud of myself for keeping it going. And it’s still a long way off from something bigger, something better, but I feel like I’m on my way to it, 100 posts, thousands of words, behind me, limitless potential ahead.

Thank you, thank you, thank you, for helping me to get to this milestone. Maybe I would have kept it up if no one was reading, but knowing you all were provided the proverbial kick in my butt to get going each week. Thanks for holding me accountable to myself. Thanks for making me keep going.

I’m really looking forward to the next 100 posts. I hope you are, too.

Leave a Reply

