An early lesson in baby proofing

Baby proofing: If I’m being entirely honest, it’s one of those things I haven’t really thought much about. I kind of figured I had some time, since babies aren’t instantly mobile, and I could figure it out somewhere later down the line. I forgot how quickly time goes and how quickly babies grow.

Last night I got an early lesson in the importance of baby proofing. And how much of a pain in the butt it’s going to be.

(Before you call Child Protective Services on me, A was not harmed in any way last night. I was the only one who sustained an injury.)

A couple birthdays ago my mom got me a Scentsy warmer (translation, a wax warmer). It’s (was? I think you can see where this is going) probably one of my favorite things. It’s so much easier and more efficient than a regular candle, and I always figured it was safer too, since it does not require an open flame. Well, I guess safer really depends on how you use it. We had sort of fallen into the habit of never turning off the Scentsy, which I never thought was a big deal, i.e., no open flame, and we kept it in an area we never really mess with, the back corner of our breakfast bar.

Anyway, fast forward to last night: I was messing around in the general vicinity of the Scentsy, and I guess I managed to tug the cord, and BAM, the Scentsy went crashing down. Ceramic and hot wax was EVERYWHERE. It was basically horrible. After letting out a string of curse words that would have made a sailor squeamish, I figured I better start cleaning up this atrocity. I tried to sweep up the ceramic pieces, but some had dried into the wax. I was extremely frustrated, so I made the mistake of trying to pry the pieces out. The next thing I know there is something red dripping onto my tile. I didn’t immediately put two and two together, but pretty soon I was like, “Hey, the wax is purple. What the hell…” Which is when I realized I had sliced my thumb open.

It was basically adding injury to insult.

Keep in mind A was SCREAMING during all of this. She has had a little cold for the past week, and it has made her incredibly clingy. If you put her down longer than five minutes she has a fit. Eventually I gave up and texted John to come home and bring band-aids.

Anyway, the moral of this story is it’s never to early to baby proof. As I was cleaning up the wax this morning (I was so incredibly pissed last night I figured it couldn’t get any worse if I leave it over night), I realized how awful it would have been if this had happened a few months down the line when A is mobile. I’m not sure I ever would have thought about the Scentsy being a hazard since it’s not at “baby level”. Also it would have been pretty disastrous if one of the cats had been milling around my feet, as they often do. Just thinking of a cat running around in terror covered in wax makes me want to die.

So while it’s pretty unfortunate it happened at all, I’m very happy it happened now and to me.

The incredibly ironic thing is, I was trying to move A’s high chair (which was right in front of the Scentsy), because she has started grabbing at EVERYTHING. I usually keep her in the Bumbo seat on the counter while I’m in the kitchen (yes, I know this isn’t safe, and I shouldn’t do it, but I am literally right in front of her at all times), but since she has started reaching for things, I don’t want to do this anymore. I was going to put her in the high chair to keep her from trying to grab the stuff in the drainer. While trying to keep her contained and safe, I discovered what would have been a large baby proofing over sight.

This whole thing has inspired me to start Operation Organize and Baby Proof. I know the basics: Block off rooms you don’t want baby in, outlet covers, cabinet and drawer locks, toilet lid lock, etc. What are some of the more missed items on the baby proofing agenda?

One thought on “An early lesson in baby proofing

  1. When Bub was about 3ish(? maybe) he stuck his finger in the Scentsy warmer and then came and asked why that water was hot. Oops. But it reminded me to move it when Button became mobile.
    We have cabinet and drawer locks and outlet covers and the baby gates (but those are mostly to keep the dogs out of the room. Though they are coming in handy to keep Button contained. Bub was never a digger but she is into EVERYTHING. I never bothered with toilet locks or door knob covers.

Leave a Reply

