Positive

There are few days/moments in my life I remember every little detail to. I have a few really vivid memories of certain days, but actually remembering every moment of a day is rare. My first day of high school and college are two days I can recall (almost) perfectly (for whatever reason).

The day I found out I was pregnant is the third.

It was a Wednesday, January 25th. I woke up at around 6:00 AM, like I always did. I had to leave for work around 6:50 AM. It took me about twenty minutes to get there, which gave me plenty of time to get coffee and check my email before our morning meeting started at 7:20. I was working in a satellite office that week, which basically meant I was all by myself instead of with my co workers. After our meeting I went to that office to settle in and get to work.

All morning all something was bothering me. I was stressed out that day because I had been working for the past few months to qualify for a promotion and due to a SNAFU I wasn’t able to interview. But I also had a nagging feeling about something else.

When John and I made the decision to have a baby, I was prepared for it to take a couple months. He was pretty convinced it would happen quickly. I had already taken two pregnancy tests, one five days early (as the test advertises you can) and one two days early. Both had came back negative. I was a little disappointed at the time, but I tried not to be too bummed out.

That Wednesday I was three days late for my period. I have a history of being late, so this wasn’t a huge surprise, but the past couple of months I had been right on time. I had planned on going home for lunch so I decided to use the last pregnancy test in the three pack I had bought, just in case. I don’t think there are any three minutes longer and more nerve racking than the three minutes you must wait for a pregnancy test. Regardless of how you want it to turn out, it’s scary. I’ll never forget how big the knot in my stomach was, even though I had convinced myself it would be negative.

My timer went off. I picked up the test. My heart dropped. Pregnant. I could hardly believe it. My only thought was “Oh. My. GOD.” I immediately called John at work, knowing there was no way I would be able to contain myself long enough to plan some elaborate reveal.

I’ll never forget how I felt in that moment. When I woke up that morning I was the same old Katy I had always been, but when I went to bed I was that, plus one more. Looking back now, almost a year to the day later, I am blown away by how quickly life can change. At this point last year all I wanted was a happy, healthy baby. And now I have one.

One thought on “Positive

Leave a Reply

