Holiday hangover

Happy day after Christmas! Or  as it’s known in my house, happy-recovery-from-the-craziness-and-putting-all-the-new-things-away-day!

A’s first Christmas was wonderful. Of course, she had no idea what was going on, but she was happy to watch everyone one else. She spent all of the present opening time either laying in her bed, sleeping, or nursing. What a life. She got plenty of new toys and clothes, and we got a new camera. I took over 100 photos playing around with it, got them on to my computer, and am now trying to figure out how I’m supposed to upload them anywhere. Baby steps.

She didn’t really handle the overstimulation and disruption in schedule very well though. She was pretty fussy the entire time. Plus we just figured out she’s teething (shout out to my sister-in-law, who pointed out to us her two bottom teeth are like, right there), which explains a lot: the constant need to gnaw on something, the incessant drooling, and non-stop fussing. It also explains her runny nose and cold-like symptoms. I don’t know how the hell we got dealt the shitty hand of colic AND early teething, but I’d sure like to have a few words with the powers that be. Unhappy baby = unhappy mama.

I took today off from work because it’s generally easier to travel in the mornings, plus I wanted to have a day to relax since the last 36 hours were pretty intense. I took A to spend her Christmas money (a couple relatives sent her some cash). She bought a new Boppy pillow, Dr. Brown’s and breast milk storage bottles, and a basket for all her new toys. She took my advice to get useful things very seriously, as you can see.

I am pretty excited about the new Boppy pillow. Our old one was a hand me down from a friend. I don’t mind the second user status of it, but it’s pretty flat and hasn’t been working as well now that she’s older. The new one is SO MUCH BIGGER and holds her up much better. It also props her up better when sitting which is awesome.

I hope you all had great Christmas days! Or great Tuesdays, if you don’t celebrate. Hopefully I’ll figure out how to get those photos into a file I can upload from soon so I can post some picture’s of A in her Christmas dress. She was pretty stinking cute, if I do say so myself.

4 thoughts on “Holiday hangover

Leave a Reply

