Dear Amelia {Two Months}

Dear Amelia,

Holy. Crap. How on earth are you already two months old?! You are no longer my little newborn who did nothing but eat and sleep. Now you are A Baby. You still eat and sleep (a lot), but you are also awake and alert and interested in the world around you.

You’re smiling all the time now, when you’re happy, that is. Whenever you wake up in the morning you look right at me and grin, almost like you’re saying “Oh, hi Mommy! There you are!” It’s the sweetest thing. Sometimes you’ll smile at nothing, too. You’ll be staring off into space and just smile, like you thought of something hilarious. I would love to know what goes on in your little mind.

Some of your favorite things right now include ceiling fans (on or off, either way), the lights on the Christmas tree, the birds above your swing, and your music box toy. You’ve also discovered yourself in the mirror. I’m not sure who you think you’re looking at, but you sure do love looking at her. You’ll go back and forth from the baby to Mommy, like “I don’t know who this baby is, but she sure is good looking!”

And you are. You are the prettiest baby, and it’s not just me saying it, either. Everywhere we go, you get tons of compliments. Everyone thinks you are beautiful. You’re eyes are getting lighter, your hair seems to be getting darker and thicker, and you definitely favor your dad in skin tone. Hopefully this means you’ll be easy to tan, unlike your Mama, who is fair skinned and always burns. You are such a perfect little mix of both your Mama and Daddy right now. You have my eyes and nose, your dads brow, lips and chin. But you are all mine in personality.

Amelia, you are a fiery baby, to say the least. You put your daddy and me through our paces every. single. day. You like things a certain way. Your way. You are loud and opinionated and particular. You want what you want when you want it. And I hope you never lose that. I pray you keep your high standards and will to get what you want your whole life, but especially during high school and college (although I do hope you lose your ability to put your whole fist in your mouth before then).

I can already tell you are going to be smart. I see your brain working when you look at things, and I know you are going to keep me and Daddy on our toes as you grow. You are going to be a curious little girl. You want to look at everything, and I know in just a few short weeks you are going to want to touch and feel everything, and then shortly after that you will be getting into everything. When that happens, go for it! We want you to learn and explore as much as you can.

Amelia, the past two months have been the best months of my life. I’m more tired than I’ve ever been, but I’m also the happiest I’ve ever been. If I never do anything else in my life, never cross anything else off my bucket list, it’s okay, because I’m your mommy. That’s all I’ve ever really wanted anyway. You are SO LOVED, and I hope you always know that. And if you ever forget, I’ll be sure to remind you. I tell you I love you at least a thousand time a day, and you get twice as many kisses and hugs.

This time next week I’ll be sitting in my desk chair crying over pictures of you, missing you terribly. But right now you are napping peacefully in your swing, so I’m just going to enjoy you at this very moment.

I love, love, love you, Boo Bear.

Love always,

Mama

P.S. It should be noted your photo shoot this morning was interrupted by an unexplained episode of the shit-fits (you, not me). By the way, “an unexplained episode of the shit-fits” is the best way to sum up the first two months of your life, but we love you anyway.

One thought on “Dear Amelia {Two Months}

  1. Mia, when you read this ask your crazy Aunt Bailey to clarify the deeper meaning of the fist in the mouth comment your mom made. Unless you read this before you’re 16. Then…uh….nevermind.

Leave a Reply

