The Sleep Situation

Day 8: I am thankful for my future. I can’t wait to see what’s in store for me and my family.

I’m not sure how it happened, but for the past few weeks we have been co-sleeping with A. I never intended on it, but somewhere around two weeks old A stopped sleeping in her cradle and would only sleep if someone was holding her. I wasn’t thrilled about this development. As she got a little older, I continued to try to put her in her own bed to sleep, but I began to notice she would only sleep on her own for a couple hours at a time, but if she was with me she would go four hour stretches at night. I decided I would rather sleep longer.

Well, now she’s almost two months old, and I’m ready for this situation to change. It’s time for her to get used to sleeping in her own space. I’ll be going back to work in a couple weeks (boo), and my goal is to have her sleeping in her crib by February. She;s never going to get there if she doesn’t learn to sleep on her own.

I started last night. I let her sleep with me until her first feeding so I could get a few hours uninterrupted sleep. After she nursed, I cuddled her for a few minutes and put her down in her bed. She was still half awake so I rocked her in the bed for a few minutes and then got into bed myself. She made a ton of noise, so I ended up not getting a lot of sleep between nursing sessions. She woke up 2-3 times to nurse whereas when she co-slept she only woke up once to nurse.

So, I’m exhausted today. I’m hoping she continues to get used to it and will go longer on her own. I don’t expect she’ll be sleeping through the night by the time I have to go back to work, but fingers crossed she’ll at least be sleeping longer, in her own bed.

2 thoughts on “The Sleep Situation

  1. Good luck! I know I’m having a hard time breaking the habit Logan has which is him sleeping in his own bed from 11 till 4 then he wakes up for a feeding and we fall asleep together. I know when he finally moves to his room and no longer wakes up in the middle of the night I will truly miss our special cuddle time in the morning before I have to go to work

Leave a Reply

