The one with all the caps

Look who’s already fallen off the bandwagon? Can’t say I didn’t warn you. Let’s play catch up (again):

Day 4: I am thankful for my education. I spent four great years at LSU and received my BA in Mass Communications, then went on to Boston University for grad school, receiving my MS in Public Relations. I’m not sure if my original intent for these degrees will come to fruition, but it’s comforting knowing they’re there, and I never ever have to go back to school.

Day 5: I am thankful for my parents. They’ve always been there for me and supported me in everything I do. They’ve been a huge influence in who I am, professionally as well as at home.

Day 6: I’m thankful for the rest of my family and my family of friends. I am surrounded everyday by a tremendous group of people. I’m seriously lucky to have such amazing people in my life. I wouldn’t be who I am today without them.

Day 7: I am thankful for my past. Life can suck, but it can also be amazing. Every little bump in the road, every failure, every success, every little milestone has led me to where I am today. 

Speaking of milestones, A hit a pretty big one today. I took her out to run a couple errands, and she was screaming on the way home. She calmed down once I got in the house, so I figured I’d take a chance and put her in the swing so I could get a few chores done. I expected her to stay quiet for 10, 15 minutes tops. I went about straightening up some, doing laundry, dishes, etc, when I noticed she had been quiet for half an hour. Fearing the worst, I stuck my head into the living room and saw the most amazing thing: SHE HAD FALLEN ASLEEP. ON HER OWN.

Holy. Crap.

I know this may not seem like a big deal to those of you with kids who sleep well, but for those of us with a kid who never sleeps unless she’s being held, this is A HUGE DEAL. I nearly cried I was so excited. I’m hoping this means she will be more willing to drift off to sleep in her cradle instead of in our arms/bed.

She napped in the swing for about 45 minutes, staying in it for a total of about an hour. I was able to organize all the mail that has been piling up since A was born, do the dishes, do some laundry, and put away a ton of stuff that has needed a home for a while. It was the most time I was able to be at home with her not attached to me in some way. Oh sweet, sweet freedom. Is this how moms of easy babies feel all the time? AMAZING.

Of course when she woke up, she woke up SCREAMING, but hey, pick you pick your battles, you know?

One thought on “The one with all the caps

Leave a Reply

