Making the most of it

My maternity leave ends next month. I cannot describe how sad this makes me.

I spent the first month of my leave under somewhat self inflicted house arrest. Partly because for two weeks I didn’t have a car (wouldn’t have gone anywhere anyway), partly because I was terrified of taking A out of the house, and partly because I was so freaking exhausted. I’m still pretty exhausted, but I’m determined to make the most of the rest of my leave. I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to be a stay at home mom (more realistically I’ll be a “working at home mom”) so I want to really enjoy the next month.

Yesterday I took A for a walk in the neighborhood behind our condos. When I was pregnant I said I was going to take her for walks all the time, but this was the maybe the second one we’ve gone on. I love the stroller we got, but getting her in her car seat can be a pain, since she HATES going in it and usually screams, but the weather is finally getting really nice and Fall-ish down here. God only knows how long that will last, so I want to take advantage of it while I can. She whined about being bundled up and put in her seat for a bit, but once we were on the way, she calmed down. I left the canopy of the stroller open so she could look around, and she seemed interested in…whatever she was looking at. Blurry leaves? Blurry trees? Listening to the wind? Who knows.

John had an early day yesterday, so we were able to have some family time. We took A to one of her Daddy’s favorite places: Bass Pro Shop. She slept the entire time we were there, so I’m not sure what her opinion was. I’m sure John will drag her on many a trip there, so she’ll have plenty of time to make up her mind.

When we got home, we took her outside to get some pictures of us with her, since other than the our birth photos taken at the hospital, all of our pictures are just of her. We took several, but this is my favorite:

Even though nothing exciting happened, it was a really nice day. I hope we can have more like it before I go back to work.

 

Leave a Reply

