Dear Amelia {One Month}

Dear Amelia,

Happy one month birthday, baby girl! I can’t believe you’ve already been here for a whole month. It seems like yesterday we were at hospital meeting you for the first time. Then again, it seems like yesterday I was finding out I was pregnant with you, so that should say something about how quickly time passes. I have to be honest, it’s a little bittersweet. It’s so amazing watching you grow and change, but I wish it would take a little longer!

I have so enjoyed getting to know you. You are starting to become a little person, and watching your personality bloom is the biggest joy in my life. Like Mommy, you are nosy! This means you are reluctant to fall asleep because you are afraid you’ll miss something. However, also like Mommy, once you are asleep, you love to stay that way, and you are very slow to wake up, even when hungry. But, like daddy, you have a HUGE appetite. You love to eat, and you don’t care where it comes from, me or a bottle.

You are definitely also like your dad in that you are a morning person. You are so alert and happy in the mornings! I love to just sit with you and listen to all you have to say. On the other hand, you are very cranky in the evening. You take after me in that, I’m afraid, you definitely can fuss! We’re still learning how to settle you down, but most days swaddling you tight then taking the rocking chair for a spin works wonders. And you love your binky, too. You’ve finally learned how to keep it in your mouth.

You are not the biggest fan of bath time, but you are getting used to it. You love to snuggle. In fact, most nights you won’t sleep unless I’m holding you. This doesn’t make it easy for Mommy, but the way you burrow your head into my neck and sigh contentedly makes it worth it. I just keep telling myself these days aren’t going to last long, so I want to treasure each cuddle with you. One day I know you won’t want to cuddle with your Mama, though I pray that day is far far away.

I have a secret, Amelia. When I was pregnant, everyone asked me if I wanted a girl or a boy. I told everyone it didn’t matter, but secretly, I wanted a girl so badly. I would have loved a boy, but I have always dreamed of a daughter. And we got you, a perfect little girl, and for that we are the luckiest parents in the world.

Baby A, the day we had you, the day we brought you home, and everyday since have been dreams come true. You’ve given me the worlds greatest gift: You’ve made me a mother. I will never be able to describe what this means to me, what you mean to me. You are my heart. You are my soul. You are my love personified.

I love, love, love you, to infinity times 100, my sweet baby girl. To the first of many, many months together.

Love,
Mommy

One thought on “Dear Amelia {One Month}

Leave a Reply

