2 or 3 week update

So, I may try to do a video blog at some point, but since Amelia is sleeping peacefully in her swing, I’m going to save it for when I actually feel like putting on make up.

When we were discharged, Amelia was slightly jaundiced, and the pediatrician on-call wanted us to see our pediatrician the next day, just in case. She was weighed at the appointment and had lost 12 ounces from her birth weight, which is basically the cusp of too much weight loss from birth weight. That combined with some concerns of not having enough dirty/wet diapers and the fact my milk hadn’t come in yet, doctor decided it was in her best interest if we supplemented with formula, since she had taken a somewhat lackadaisical approach to nursing. I was extremely frustrated by this; I knew it was for the best, I wanted her to be getting nourishment, but I felt, in some small way, like a failure as a mother. In the end it was NBD, because my milk came in that evening, and she was much more enthusiastic about eating.

We had to go back to the pediatrician on Wednesday, which where things get particularly interesting. Wednesday was John’s back to work day, and he couldn’t drive us to the doctor. Against my better judgement, I decided I was okay to drive us. Well, our parking lot has covered parking, and I think you can see where this is going. I turned to make sure nothing was coming from the other direction, and cut the wheel a little too soon, and I hit one of the support poles. It wouldn’t have been a big deal if I had stayed put, but I panicked and kept backing up, which took off the front bumper half way. Not my smartest moment. So in addition to being late to the doctor, I had to file a claim with the insurance company, get the car towed, blah blah blah.

On the bright side, she had gained five ounces in two days, so improvements!

We went BACK to the doctor the next Tuesday (October 3rd) for another weight check (back to birth weight, yaay), and she had an eye infection we needed checked out. We were prescribed the smallest, most expensive bottle of eye drops ever, which thankfully worked. Here’s to hoping we don’t have to see the doctor until our first well baby visit.

Other than doctor’s visits and minor car accidents, the past three weeks have mostly been us adjusting to our new life. I always thought I knew a lot about babies. I have three nephews and a niece, and I babysat and nannied throughout high school. But nothing, and I mean nothing, prepares you for life with your own baby. You know everything is going to change, but I don’t think you really grasp the gravity of it until baby is born. The other day I caught myself thinking, “If I could get one night of decent sleep…” before I realized, yeah, right, that’s never really going to happen again, at least not anytime soon. Sleep deprivation, sore nipples (TMI? Sorry!), spending waaaaaaaay too much on diapers, this is my reality now. And that’s okay, because I wouldn’t trade it for the world.

(Speaking of diapers, if you are pregnant and reading this and you take only one thing from my experiences, let this be it: No matter how many diapers you think you have, it’s not enough. Trust me. Stock up.)

One thought on “2 or 3 week update

  1. This right here is my favorite: “But nothing, and I mean nothing, prepares you for life with your own baby.” Because there is really is nothing that can prepare you. Now *you* are the mom that people give the baby back to. And honestly there is no real way to prepare for the exhaustion that follows.

Leave a Reply

