Ready

As many of you know, since you get here from Facebook, I am being induced tomorrow morning. Bright and early. At 4:30 am. Not exactly the ideal time, but it isn’t the ideal circumstances, either. After last week’s appointment, I had pretty much mentally prepared myself for this outcome, so when she told me at my appointment on Wednesday she had scheduled me I was ready for it. And I understand it’s the right thing to do, for both me and Amelia at this point. Hopefully everything goes back to normal with my blood pressure after she’s born, and hopefully this isn’t an issue in subsequent pregnancies.

My maternity leave started today, which I am super thankful for. I was able to go to the grocery store so we don’t starve in the days after coming home from the hospital and get all our laundry done. And John and his mom just finished scouring the condo so we have a clean place to bring baby home to. Also, we installed the car seat (yeeeaah, we procrastinated a little on that one, I’ll admit). AND last night we got a dresser! So the nursery is pretty much complete! The only thing left is John’s least favorite chore: Hanging curtains. She’ll probably be three before he gets around to it (love you, honey!). Most importantly though, I was able to rest and take a long bath and generally enjoy my last day sans baby.

And yes, I am a little nervous about the actual process of having the baby, but at this point, I’m mostly just excited. I’m ready to see the little person who I’ve gotten to know so well the past nine months. I’m ready to see her face, see who she looks like. I’m ready to see if she’s as spirited out in the world as she’s been inside of me (I’m thinking she will be). I’m ready to meet my daughter.

As John has been saying, “we’re ready to get this show on the road.”

The next time you’ll hear from me at Hot Shot Mama we’ll be reporting with baby! If you are so inclined, you can keep up with the whole shebang on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

