36 week update

Well, we weathered the storm.

Actually, we never even lost power, so we did really well. Others, unfortunately, were not so lucky. My parents had a tree fall on their cabana (first world problems, I know), proving they literally cannot go through a hurricane without some kind of tree falling on some part of their property. More importantly, there are many people across Louisiana and Mississippi who have lost everything to Isaac, so let’s all keep them in our thoughts and prayers and just generally send good, happy vibes their way.

In the midst of all this, I am now 36 weeks pregnant, so so very close to being full term. I was supposed to go to the doctor yesterday, but thanks to Isaac the practice was closed. The doctor called me first thing this morning to see if I could come in today (how’s that for service). Apparently they aren’t joking when they say they want to see you EVERY WEEK from a certain point. She checked me “down there” for the first time, and naturally, there is absolutely nothing going on. As of right now I am still closed for business, if you catch my drift.

However, there are two things she never hazards a guess on: When baby will come and how much baby will weigh. As The Good Doctor said, “The only person who knows when that baby is coming is the baby herself and God. And unfortunately neither are going to give you much of a heads up.” Also, she said (and I knew this, but again, always nice to hear from a doctor), whether or not you dilate early has little to do with it; you can walk around for weeks dilated or be completely shut up there and go into labor the next day. You just never know.

I’m not super ready for her to leave the wet nest quite yet (still have a few things to get, plus our natural childbirth class isn’t until next weekend), so I’m okay if she hangs out till the end of the month. Even if I feel like I’m about to burst at the seams (the Braxton-Hicks contractions are definitely getting more frequent and stronger, which I am not enjoying). But, just in case we do have an early arrival, I am going to get everything we need for the hospital together this weekend as well as install the car seat. Better safe than sorry, you know?

Leave a Reply

