32 week update

Normally I do my updates every five weeks, but that would mean I’d only have, at the most, two updates left. And this blog is supposed to be about pregnancy, so I figure why not, we’ll do ’em every two weeks from here on out.

So anyway, 32 weeks! We had our very last appointment at the old Woman’s Hospital today (for those of you reading outside of Baton Rouge, Woman’s Hospital–the hospital to give birth in in the area–has been building a new hospital for what seems like forever, and it’s finally opening in a couple days). I was my doctor’s last patient in her old office.

It was the world’s fastest OB appointment. I was in and out before my scheduled appointment time. Believe me, I’m not complaining. I wish ALL my visits could be that efficient. Anyway, I have gained a total of 16.5 pounds from my pre-pregnancy weight. I’m gaining about .5-1 pound a week. At that rate, I should finish up right around 25 pounds total. Seeing that the good doctor said 25-30 pounds was a good range for me, I’m extremely proud of myself.

**Side note: If someone had told me years ago I would actually struggle at times to gain weight while pregnant and that I would not have to work excessively hard to not gain a TON of weight, I would have laughed at them. Gaining weight has NEVER been an issue for me.**

My blood pressure also looked “great!”, always a relief to hear. Baby’s heart rate was 147, and my stomach is measuring 33 inches. Doctor said she is still probably a little bit above average in size, and I’m thinking at this point it’s likely to stay that way. I’m really curious how much her final weight will be. I’m taking bets, by the way, if you want to join the pool.

She listened to me whine for a bit about how much everything hurts and how I’m nauseous all the time again. Where most people say, “it will all be worth it soon!” the doctor commiserates and says, “yep, it really sucks and everything is hard, I understand” (she doesn’t actually say it sucks, I’m paraphrasing), which is another reason why I love her. Sometimes you just need someone who’ll tell you exactly what you want to hear, and not necessarily what they think you need to hear.

Things are trucking along. John and I got the travel system put together, as well as the kickass Rock n’ Play sleeper (where she’ll be snuggled up in our room for the first few months) and bouncy seat and even the high chair. We are slowly but surely getting everything ready for this baby. Although we need a lot of stuff. Namely, a crib mattress. And a dresser. Still.

Finally, I leave you with a picture of Harleaux in her new favorite hiding place. Her love of all of Baby A’s stuff is cute yet annoying.

It’s like she puts herself in prison

Leave a Reply

