A small scare

I had a doctor appointment yesterday. I went in, like I always do, feeling the same way I’ve been feeling lately: Tired, cranky, sore, but generally okay. I peed in a cup, got weighed (now up 12 pounds from my pre-pregnancy weight, 15.5 pounds gained total after my initial first trimester weight loss), and then had my blood pressure taken. And it was elevated. I wasn’t really listening when the nurse said what it was (155 over something), I just knew it has always typically been below 120 over something, and it just didn’t seem right.

You can always tell when something is off when you don’t have to wait for the doctor. My doctor came in immediately after the nurse left. She didn’t say anything about my blood pressure right off, just measured my stomach and listened for the heartbeat. Then she said since it was high, she was going to take it again. And again. The last time it was down a little, but still much higher than my baseline.

Of course, this is where I started to panic a little, which I’m sure didn’t help anything at all. All I could think about was pre-eclampsia and having to go on bed rest and possibly deliver early. My doctor is really great and knows I have a tendency to over-react. She looked me straight in the eye and said, “Everything is going to be fine. I’m thinking this is stress related, but we’re going to do some extra screenings, okay?”

(Can I just take a moment to say how much I love my doctor? She’s really fantastic.)

I was already scheduled for my glucose screening, so she added a HELPP Panel to it. After drinking that awful sugar drink (think really sweet, really dense, really flat orange soda) and waiting an hour, I had about eight vials of blood drawn. I hate having blood drawn. To make matters worse, after she had one vial filled, the needle slipped (causing me to literally squirt blood all over the place–so glad I wasn’t looking), so she had to re-stick me. The mixture of all these things made me feel really icky the rest of the day–very woozy and head-achy.

All in all, not the best day I’ve ever had. The silver lining is I’m going to be seeing her every two weeks now (can’t believe we’re already that close to the third trimester), and we get to have another ultrasound at our next visit (which is in two weeks)! We’re supposed to know what is/isn’t going on in a couple of days. I’m hopeful everything is fine.

4 thoughts on “A small scare

  1. Ugh. I hated the glucose test. I felt so yucky after the one for Button. The 3 hour one is even worse. I had to do that one with Bub.
    I know it is hard but don’t worry. I am sure everything will be fine.

  2. Pingback: Big news « Hot Shot Mama

Leave a Reply

