Finally Friday

For a short week, this week has been unexpectedly long, so I apologize for the lack of posts. I didn’t seem to get home till almost seven each day, and on Wednesday my big bosses were at the office. Plus, I feel like I’ve gotten maybe five hours of really good sleep collectively over the past few days. Basically, I’ve just been really drained.

I know I said I was going to try to complain less and be thankful more, and I really am trying. In spite of everything, I am  (mostly) enjoying being pregnant. Over the past week, Baby A has really started to move A LOT. I’m actually thinking she has always moved this much, but I am finally feeling it more often. It seems anytime I’m sitting down I feel at least a few kicks, punches, or rolls (it feels especially weird when she does this, or when she stretches). And today while I was at lunch, she got the hiccups! I giggled in my car for about 10 minutes; it was the funniest feeling.

So most days are good, but I still catch myself worrying about other things, like daycare and pediatricians and health insurance and “oh my god, how on earth are we going to afford this, what were we thinking”. Last night I woke up in the middle of the night with an overwhelming sense of dread, and it took me a good hour of deep breathing and reminding myself that everything was going to be fine, people have had and raised babies on much less than we have, and everything would work itself out.

I know I don’t have to have all of the answers RIGHT NOW, but sometimes I forget, and I catch myself falling into a downward spiral of stress. In order to calm myself down more today I made a to-do list for the next week, which includes researching daycare options and pediatricians, and opening a second savings account for Baby A (we have one already we contribute to every paycheck for general savings, but I think having her own will help me feel more grounded).

But for now, it’s finally Friday, and I made an awesome pasta salad I can’t wait to dig into for dinner. So, happy weekend!

Leave a Reply

