Feeling hot, hot, hot

Most people consider Memorial Day the official start of summer, but I think summer arrived down here awhile ago, Like I mentioned in my last post, it is getting super hot. I think the thermometer in my car was reading 94 in the shade today.

I’m already having a lot of trouble dealing with the heat, which scares me because it’s only going to get worse in the next few months. It typically doesn’t start cooling down significantly until late September or early October, by which point this baby will already be born (I hope).

Keeping cool is proving to be a challenge. So far, I’ve found a spot on the couch directly under the air vent for the AC (it might be the coolest spot in the house), which is where I park myself when I’m not at work. I have stocked my freezer with popsicles, I have invested in several lightweight maternity tank tops, and I pretty much always have my thermal tumbler of ice water next to me. We have a pool in our neighborhood, but I’ve yet to find a maternity swimsuit that A) I actually like and B) doesn’t cost an arm and a leg.

Of course all of this is only good when I’m not at work or running errands. The real challenge is during the weekdays, when I’m in and out of the heat all day long. You can only make business professional so cool, especially when you have to wear dress shoes. I’ve already decided to put popsicles in the breakroom freezer, and I’m considering buying a personal mister/fan. I’ll even wear it around my neck if I can get away with it.

No one in my family has ever been uber pregnant (like me) in the middle of the summer, so mamas of late summer/early fall babies who have been there, what did you do to beat the heat?

I hope everyone is having a fabulous Memorial Day, and a special thanks goes out to all the mommys and daddys out there who have served our country :).

Leave a Reply

