Nursery dreams

Ever since we’ve moved into to the new place, and especially since we found out Baby A is a girl, the nursery has been a constant source of both agony and excitement. Agony because I have no idea where to start with it; excitement because, well, I get to decorate a nursery. But it has been extremely stressful to figure out how I want to do that.

This is what the room that will serve as the nursery looks like now.

As you can see, it’s still very much in transition. We put a lot of stuff in it while moving to get it out of the way, and it has been a very slow process getting it out. My goal for the long weekend is to finish emptying it of non-baby related things. Right now, the only things in the room that are staying there are the rocker by the door (you can kind of see the top of it directly to the right), which will go by the window, and the bookcase on the opposite wall. Both of these items hold a lot of sentimental value: My mom rocked me (and my brothers) in the rocker, and my dad built the bookshelf which I had used all my life.

(This room mostly stays closed, so every time the door opens our little cat, Harleaux, likes to take advantage of the jungle gym within.)

I know I want to do something that isn’t necessarily baby-ish, I’d really like it to be a room with a versatile enough theme we could adapt for at least a few years. This leaves out things like Winnie-the-Pooh or Peter Rabbit. I have no desire for characters anyway. What I really want is something clean, maybe even a little sophisticated, but still reminiscent of childhood. It’s taken a little while, but I’ve finally narrowed down what will serve as my inspiration for the nursery.

I saw this on Pinterest a few weeks ago and immediately fell in love with it. It’s very DIY, but easy enough I think I can handle it. I love the how it feels very classic and sophisticated, but you can still make it fun and playful by using different sized circles and fun fabrics. I plan on using one of my grandmother’s handkerchiefs in one circle and fabric from a dress my noni made in another to also keep it sentimental.

And after much deliberation and visits to Babies R’ Us, I’ve decided I want to go with a spindle crib, probably this one or something similar.

I also really love something like this for the wall over the changing table.

Using black and white family photos, vintage prints, silhouettes, etc.

I also want to refinish the bookshelf and paint it white, which I’ve never done. I’m sure that will be a huge project for me in and of itself.

It’s nice to finally have a plan for how I want things to go in her nursery. It’s a little project intensive, so I’m hoping to start on some things in the next couple of weeks. Even though it isn’t technically summer, we’re already having 90+ days, so I’m moving a lot slower, even in the AC. I figure if I start now, maybe I’ll actually have everything done by my due date. If I’m particularly motivated, maybe even before!

At least, that’s the goal.

3 thoughts on “Nursery dreams

  1. Pingback: Nursery, round 1 « Hot Shot Mama

Leave a Reply

