Perspective

I’ve always been a pretty whiny person. I complain a lot, and I have a low threshold for discomfort and pain, so you can imagine how awful it’s been to be around me for the 5 months. But, sometimes things happen that jar you back to reality.

Last week I read on Facebook that an acquaintance of mine from college has cancer. I don’t know her that well, but we had the same major so we were often in the same classes, and we traveled to Europe together with a group a people the summer after junior year at LSU. Mostly, she is someone I passively pay attention to on my news feed, which given the circumstances, now sounds horrible.

Generally speaking, humans (myself included), like to think we live in a bubble where bad things can’t happen to us.  It’s always shocking when someone young is diagnosed with an illness like cancer. It’s even more shocking when it’s someone you know. Things like this pop that imaginary bubble and really make you realize crappy things don’t discriminate who they affect.

So I have spent the past few days being thankful. Thankful for my backaches, my sore arm, my heartburn, my exhaustion, because all of these things mean I have a baby growing inside me. And I am so very blessed for that.

If you are interested, she is blogging here. Her first couple of posts have been extremely inspiring, and I highly recommend giving it a read.

Leave a Reply

