20 week update

Last week marked 20 weeks pregnant, meaning we are officially halfway through this pregnancy. WOO!

I’ve had a theory going for awhile now that time actually slows down when you’re pregnant. You know when you’re a kid, and it feels like you’re constantly waiting to grow up and for something to happen? And then you do grow up and time starts to go super fast. Well, I’ve found pregnancy is a lot like being a kid again. There’s a lot of things you are no longer able to do and time creeps by.

Case in point, I’ve been pregnant 20 (21, really) weeks now, and I feel like I’ve been pregnant for about 2 years. I have subscribed to  several of those “how big is your baby this week” newsletters, and when I read “Your baby is about 10 ounces!” I just think, “ONLY 10 OUNCES?! I feel like I’m carrying a small ham in there!” It’s ridiculous. On one hand I’m like, “Yeah, halfway there!” but on the other it’s more like, “You mean I’m only halfway there?” Cue sad violins.

I know I should be thankful, and I am. I have had a very low-risk and healthy pregnancy thus far (knock on wood), and I know many women would kill to be in my position right now. So I am very, very thankful. Even if I do whine a lot about backaches and hip pain.

So yeah, halfway done!

In other news, I go to the doctor next week. One thing is for certain, this is the first time in my life I’ve actually looked forward to doctor’s appointments. I’m curious to see how much weight I’ve gained. At my last visit (18 weeks), I had finally started gaining weight BACK after losing it my first trimester, and I was up about 2 pounds over my pre-pregnancy weight. I definitely feel like I’ve gained a crap ton more, which probably means I’ve only gained another pound. The one time in my life it’s wanted and needed to gain weight, and my body won’t do it easily. Typical.

One thought on “20 week update

  1. Pregnancy is one of those things that goes by slowly until you are no longer pregnant and then you wonder how it went by so fast. Once you are holding your baby you sort of forget how long it took to get her.

Leave a Reply

