My biggest fear realized

I had plans to write about Baby A’s nursery, now that I’ve finally found inspiration for it, but today I’m going to write about something a little off topic.

As I’ve said before, my husband is a pilot. As a contract/corporate pilot, he flies a lot of planes, one of which being a Cessna 210, a small single-engine. This morning, that airplane crashed.

Before I go further, HE IS OKAY. The only passenger on the plane with him is ALSO OKAY. I stress this because as soon as I got the text from him saying “I crashed the plane, but I am okay,” I immediately began freaking out. From what I understand, there was an issue with the landing gear, and he had to declare an emergency. As only half his landing gear was functioning properly, he “veered” off the runway.

This is something I think about every time he goes up, and I usually don’t breathe easy until he lets me know he’s landed safely. It’s not that I don’t trust his flying capabilities, I know what a great pilot he is, it’s just that anything can happen, to anyone, at anytime, and today really proved that point. I’m pretty sure his next few flights are going to be twice as nerve wracking (for me, and maybe a little for him, too).

As far as crashes go, his was pretty tame, and it could have been so much worse, but as a pilot wife, hearing “The plane crashed” is my biggest fear. Today, I am just thankful it was my husband sending the text. I’m also thankful he is as good and well trained as he is. He did everything he needed to do get his passenger and himself down safely.

(And apparently today was a slow news day in Midland, TX. Look, honey, you’re pseudo famous now!)

Leave a Reply

